Reading Eggs free trial – bring reading to life

Reading Eggs

Kids love playing on the computer, and it’s often hard to motivate them to read more. But what if there was a way you could combine the two and introduce important reading skills in a fun and enjoyable way? The Reading Eggs program is all about bringing out the best in each child with interactive reading and writing activities online.

Helping your kids to learn literacy doesn’t have to be tedious or boring

Helping your kids to learn literacy doesn’t have to be tedious or boring as they will get the best elements of online and book learning in one easy to use process.

As well as 120 fun reading lessons there is Reading Eggs World which caters for 6-8 year olds who already know the basics of reading but who still have much to learn about reading, writing, spelling, and comprehension.

Reading Eggs World

In Reading Eggs World, children have their own house to decorate, a big new shop and an avatar that can walk and travel to many new destinations on Reggie’s bus. (Sounds fun right?)

Children are able to choose their own adventure, including the following content:

  • The Playroom – this is for younger children and introduces the alphabet alongside a series of educational activities which help with motor skills and get them used to using the mouse or keypad.
  • The Story Factory – this gives children an introduction to creative writing and they can put together stories to enter in a weekly story writing competition.
  • Driving Tests – has 15 sight word tests, 15 letters and sounds and 15 content word tests. Children are rewarded for correct completion with a driving game.
  • Puzzle Park – children can access 32 word puzzles and practice sight word recognition.
  • Skills Bank – holds 96 spelling lessons that takes students up to the end of key stage 1.
  • Storylands – this area builds reading, vocabulary and comprehension skills and is perfect for children who have begun to read but aren’t quite ready for Reading Eggspress. It currently includes 20 e-books to read.
  • The Arcade – includes 24 arcade-style games used as rewards to motivate children to keep learning. They need to earn Golden Eggs to play these so it encourages them to work through lessons and educational activities before using the arcade.

These areas are unlocked at different stages as children work through the program so they can steadily progress after being tested at each stage with a quiz.

Reading Eggspress

Reading EggsThis one will be sure to grab their attention as they explore a spinning island full of activities to motivate and give them the chance to regularly complete lessons, compete against others, earn more rewards and improve their skills.

The books and lessons cover the Year 2 to Year 6 reading curriculum using an equal number of fiction and factual texts. There are four areas of the Reading Eggspress world:

  • Library – the Reading Eggspress Library holds more than 1000 e-books including illustrated chapter books, full-colour nonfiction books and a range of classics.
  • The Comprehension Gym – children will complete a placement test when they first visit the Gym which places students at the correct level for their current ability. The Gym holds 200 interactive comprehension lessons over five broad levels from years 2 to years 6 with 40 lessons per year level.
  • The Stadium – compete in real time against students from around the world. The exciting head-to-head contest will test skills in one of four areas – spelling, vocabulary, usage and grammar.
  • Apartment and Mall – at the mall children can use their Golden Eggs to buy avatar clothes and apartment furniture. Within the apartment all of the trophies, medals and trading cards children have collected can be viewed and children can also complete a 100-level quest-style game to expand and refresh learning and earn more Golden Eggs.

Why Reading Eggs?

The program has been developed by a highly experienced team of educational teachers, writers and developers. It focuses on a core reading curriculum of phonics and sight words using skills and strategies essential for sustained reading success, supporting what children learn at school.

Since its launch in 2008, Reading Eggs has grown to include 120 literacy lessons, 10 lessons per map and within each lesson 8-12 activities, taking a child from foundation stage through to the end of key stage one.

There are currently over two million children worldwide who use the program with 99.7% of parents noticing a positive change in their children’s reading.

Parent Deb Swinney says: “My son is four and a half, and wasn’t having trouble with reading, but just didn’t enjoy it and wasn’t interested. Since he started playing the games on Reading Eggs, he’s speeded up his progress, and he’s really enjoying reading and is proud to show off what he’s learned. He’s even started teaching his teddies to read too!”

How much does it cost?

A 6-month subscription costs £29.95 per child, or a 12-month subscription is £39.95.

You can get a no-obligation two week free trial to see if Reading Eggs is for you, and for a limited time MyFamilyClub members get an extended free trial period of four weeks with code UKJ24MFC. Special offer ends 30 April 2013.

Add a second or third child at the same time and get a 50% discount.

Find out more at Reading Eggs.